History of Mull
Perhaps the most famous sight on Mull's coast is Duart Castle, home of the Chief of Clan Maclean. In its commanding position on a promontory on the south east of the island, it evokes the history of the highlands and its people.
Duart has had a stormy past. Built in the 13th century, its 14ft thick Keep walls with mounted cannons posed a significant defence and offence against enemies. However, in 1691 it was sacked by the Duke of Argyll, and after Clan Maclean's support of the Stuarts in 1715 and 1745 the castle was left in ruins until 1912, when it was restored by the present chief's great-grandfather.
Lady Rock, the tiny reef between the Lismore lighthouse and the Mull shore, was the scene of a famous attempted murder by one of the chiefs of Clan Maclean, who inhabited Duart Castle on the promontory opposite. He bound up and left his wife to drown on rocks that he knew would be flooded by the incoming tide.
However, unbeknown to Maclean, she was rescued by passing fishermen and taken to her father, a great nobleman. When Maclean went to his father-in-law's castle to tell him the sad news, she was presented to him alive and well. Shortly afterwards Maclean himself suffered a violent death. The island's romantic atmosphere fosters countless stories such as this, many endowed with a kernel of truth.